September 15, 2004

Stanley Metcalfy has composed a wonderful review essay of John Ziman’s Technological Innnovation as an Evolutionary Process.  Read it here.

August 2004

Timur Kuran has written a fascinating paper on Why the Middle East is economically underdeveloped.  Anyone interested in social evolution will find this timely paper worth reading.  Download Paper

July 2004

Geoffrey Hodgson has published a new book, The Evolution of Institutional Economics: Agency, Structure and Darwinism in American Institutionalism.You can read here the review published on EH.Net.

Read more...

June 2004

A Workshop on Adaptation vs. Selection in Industrial Change will take place at the Academy of Management Meeting in New Orleans, August 7, 2004.

October 2003

The abstracts of a new working papers on industrial evolution by Giovanni Gavetti and Johann Peter Murmann are posted.

image

New Book

An Evolutionary Approach to Social Welfare by Christian Satorius

From the Publisher: A person finds a lost purse with a lot of money in it. Ought she try to return it to its owner or keep it herself? And even more interestingly, what will she actually do? According to standard economic theory, a rational person is supposed to maximize her utility and, at least when unobserved, keep the purse for herself.

Read more...

April 2003

PBS has produced a spectacular film showing how recent advances in genetic analyses are rewriting the history of human beings. See the PBS website for a schedule of The Journey of Man.  The film is also available on video, and Princeton University Press has published a compendium book: The Journey of Man: A Genetic Odyssey.

image

February 2003

Robert Aunger has published a new book in which he spells out his theory of memes. You can read the introduction and the first chapter of his “Electric Meme” here

November 2002

Following in the tradition of Karl Popper and David Hull, Marion Blute has written a very interesting paper on the development of science as an evolutionary process. You can read the article The Evolutionary Ecology of Science online at the Journal of Memetics.

September 2002

A Workshop on Cognitions and Capabilities is taking place at Harvard. Click here for details.

July 2002

Darwinism in Economics: from Analogy to Ontology. Geoffrey Hodgson has written an important paper that addresses the criticisms that have been marshaled against the application of evolutionary explanations in the social sciences. Hodgson highlights that Darwinism includes a broad theoretical framework for the analysis of the evolution of all open, complex systems, and involves a basic philosophical commitment to detailed, cumulative, causal explanations. You can download this new paper here

May 2002

A workshop on “Empirical research on routines in business and economics: Towards a research program” will be held on the November 3-4 in Odense, Denmark. Click here for a call for papers.

April 2002

The Fourth International Workshop on Institutional Economics will be held on the July 3 and 5 at the University of Hertfordshire, UK. Click here for details.

March 2002

A roundtable on “Resources, Routines and Industrial Dynamics in the Experimentally Organized Economy” will be held on the October 24 and 25 in Hirtshals, Denmark. Click here for details.  The first English translation of the seventh chapter of Schumpeter’s 1912 classic “Theory of Economic Evolution” will appear in a special issue on Industry and Innovation. Click here for a table of contents.

February 2002

Jack Vromen reviews Jason Pott’s The New Evolutionary Microeconomics: Complexity, Competence and Adaptive Behaviour in the Journal of Memetics.

January 22, 2002

image

Dawinizing Culture: The Status of Memetics as a Science

Howard E. Aldrich reviews (January 21, 2002) for etss.net a new book about the meme concept edited by Robert Aunger. Aunger brought together both supporters and opponents of meme theory (Susan Blackmore, Maurice Bloch, Robert Boyd, Rosaria Conte, David L Hull, Adam Kuper, Kevin Leland, John Odling-Smee, Henry Plotkin, Peter J. Richerson, Dan Sperber) to debate the validity of a concept regarded by many as scientifically suspect. Click here for a table of contents. Share your thoughts on the book or the review by posting a message at the end of the reviews.

December 2001

A volume “Evolution of Cultural Entities” edited by Wheeler, Ziman and Boden is in preparation. Click here for a tentative table of contents and e-mail addresses of editors.

image

December 2001

Strategy is Destiny: How Strategy-Making Shapes a Company’s Future by Robert A. Burgelman with a Foreword by Andrew S. Grove

From the Publisher: This sophisticated book, written for executives at established companies and business school scholars, places two mutually antagonistic concepts—strategy (which posits an open-ended, yet-to-be-determined future) and destiny (the belief in an inevitable end)—into a relationship. Author Robert Burgelman, a professor at Stanford University, begins with look at strategy—what it is, how it evolves, becoming inertial and destinal or adaptive and transformative—using Intel as a model. He then proceeds with an advanced discussion of strategy that is fascinating, challenging, and well worth reading; although this book isn’t right for the casual reader, it is certain to be appreciated by its intended audience.

August 2001

We created a link to Robert Axelrod’s course syllabus Complexity Theory in the Social Sciences

July 2001

Just discovered links to selected writings of David Hume and Adam Smith.

June 2001

Comparing Evolutionary Dynamics Across Different National Settings. You can read the abstract and download this new paper on the early development of the synthetic dye industry by Johann Peter Murmann and Ernst Homburg here.

May 2001

Post-Doc Position The Evolutionary Economics Unit at the Max Planck Institute for Research into Economic Systems in Jena, Germany, seeks to recruit a scientist with a demonstrated interest in evolutionary economics, holding a doctoral degree in economics or related fields for no more than 5 years. Applicants are expected to contribute to the institute’s ongoing research (please consult: http://www.mpiew-jena.mpg.de). The contract period is negotiable (1 to 3 years). Remuneration follows the German federal salary schedule (BAT).  Applications should be sent to Professor Ulrich Witt, Evolutionary Economics Unit, Max Planck Institute for Research into Economic Systems, Kahlaische Str. 10, D-07745 Jena, Germany

May 2001

Evolutionary Theory in Management and Organization Theory at the Beginning of a New Millennium: A Symposium on the State of the Art and Opportunities for Future Research in Evolutionary Theory.  You can now read a transcript of the symposium that took place on Aug 7 2000, in Toronto, Canada.  The symposium was organized by Johann Peter Murmann, and the speakers were Howard Aldrich, Dan Levinthal and Sid Winter.  Click here for conference details.

image

May 2001

Evolutionary Theories in the Social Sciences (etss.net) has asked Brian Loasby to read Technological Innovation as an Evolutionary Process, edited by John Ziman, and offer his reflections on this exiting new volume.

Read more...

April 2001

A large public conference on the contributions of Nelson & Winter will take place at DRUID in Aalberg, Denmark, June 12-15. The conference home page provides all relevant information. A volume “Evolution of Cultural Entities” edited by Wheeler, Ziman and Boden is in preparation. Click here  for a tentative table of contents and e-mail addresses of editors.

Page 3 of 5 pages  <  1 2 3 4 5 >

Editor

Advisory Board

Affiliated Website






 Tell a Friend